Patea

ADDRESS

4 Derby Street, Patea 4520

 

HOURS

Monday – Friday

Kindergarten Day:   8.30 am – 1.30 pm

 

 

 

 

STAFFING & GROUP SIZE

The staff at Patea Kindergarten consists of a teaching team of four,  a Kindergarten Administrator and a Teacher Aide.

The group size is a maximum of 30 children aged 2- 6 years.

 

CONTACT

Ph (06) 273 8373 | Mobile (027) 723 1879 | patea@kindergartentaranaki.co.nz

 

NOW OFFERING 30 HOURS FREE

Now offering 30 hours free for all children over the age of two.

 

A fee of $6.00 per hour applies if you have attested any of your 20 ECE hours at another service

Last day for 2021

  • Tuesday 21 December

TERM DATES- 2022

Term one:  Wednesday 19 January –  to Friday 15 July

Term two:  Monday 25 July  to Wednesday 21  December

Kindergarten closed: 

  • Tuesday 19 April
  • Friday 29 April
  • Monday 18 to Friday 22 July
  • Monday 3 October

Kindergarten closed for Public Holidays: 

  • Monday 7 February
  • Monday 14 March
  • Friday 15 April
  • Monday 18 April
  • Monday 25 April
  • Monday 6 June
  • Friday 24 June
  • Monday 24 October

“I was able to hear, see, and feel a commitment to Te Ao Maori, Te Reo Maori, Tikanga and Wairutanga. The children and adults within the Kindergarten were very much at peace within their space and on refection I recognise how much effort has been put into creating wairua. It is something to be celebrated….”

Ra Keelan Lecturer I(Maori leadership, Pacific Partnership) N.Z. Tertiary College

 

Our Philosophy:

Our learning environment will reflect an inclusive practice where family/whanau and the wider community feel welcome, where meaningful relationships are supported and encouraged. We believe our enthusiasm as educators will inspire children’s sense of curiosity, amazement, passion and sense of fun as they  explore and experiment, leaning to make sense of their world.

 

Patea Kindergarten has an environment that reflects the wealth of resources the community has to offer:

The teaching team have a commitment to using these resources as active learning tells for children and this is evident when entering the centre. The use of woods, shells, and gifts from papatuanuku support learning and positive outcomes for children.

We are privileged to have a kai awhina working alongside us several hours a week, supporting our bi-cultural practise and sharing her knowledge.

We have our vegetable garden and strong links with the kindergarten community garden, right next door. Vegetables are grown and shared with whānau and the wider community.

The centre has an open door policy, encouraging parents and whānau to share in their children’s learning and know they have a place within the wider kindergarten environment and that  their contribution is valued.

The teaching team actively support the building of respectful  relationships between children and adults. We encourage the use of appropriate language to negotiate as we work tighter to build an environment that reflects peaceful play.

Our kindergarten philosophy is evident and reflected in our daily kindergarten programme and practices.